Tea Tuesday: Ginger, Cinnamon & Lemon Tea

gingercinnlemon

Took a blogging break for the holidays, so this week with yesterday’s post, I’m now back to regularly blogging here, so that means, today is Tea Tuesday! I love me some tea. Obviously. Anywho, one of my faves, and which is what I drink in the morning, is this hot tea I’m going to share with you today. I don’t (actually I can’t) drink coffee (due to a heart arrhythmia) so I wake up au naturel, which I know is just foreign and shocking to most of you writers! I do love the ritual y’all have, but I’m not missing anything, because I have that same kind of relationship with tea, though I do miss out on all the social ritual with others y’all enjoy. Anyway, man, I’m chatty this morning. First drink I have in the morning is actually a 20 ounce glass of lemon water spiked with Apple Cider Vinegar. I tried to take the latter solo, but while it did wake me up, I just couldn’t do it.

After that, I have my first cup of hot tea for the day (because I do have other concoctions later of different herbs), and it’s a Ginger, Cinnamon and Lemon decoction.

Why These?

DISCLAIMER: Due to the FDA and FTC laws on health claims, I need to make this very clear. None of the information in this post is to be construed as medical advice. I am not a doctor or certified medical practitioner of any sort. I am simply sharing my own personal experiences, and what I’ve gleaned from outside sources. Statements/products discussed have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and are not intended to diagnose, cure, treat, or prevent any disease or illness. Every person is different and you should always consult your own certified health care practitioner before making changes to your current diet or before beginning any herbal or vitamin supplement regimen or exercise program. Also, if you’re pregnant or lactating, you should always consult your physician before using any medicinal herbs.

Cinnamon. I’m using Cassia Cinnamon sticks as the health benefits are more documented. For those who’ve heard that it has more coumarin, from what I understand, that’s fat soluble so boiling cassia cinnamon sticks in water will only extract the good stuff. There are numerous health benefits in cinnamon, so much so that I try to incorporate it everyday. I even sprinkle some on my salad. But for this tea, it’s included as it apparently helps with alertness, mood and memory. You can order them here or here.

Ginger root. I buy the nice, plump roots organic at my local health food store, so I don’t have to bother with peeling off the skin. I just wash it and slice. It also has many wonderful properties including improved circulation, which will give you more energy. It also aids in weight loss, helps regulate glucose levels, lowers blood pressure, fights cancer, boosts immune system, and more! If you don’t have a health food store, try the produce section of your regular supermarket. I’ve seen non-organic ones at Publix. Asian or Middle Eastern markets would be another place to check. Remember, if it’s non-organic, you should peel it.

Lemon. I include it not only for the taste, but also because lemon is a great detoxifier as well as having antibacterial and antiviral properties, a great addition during this cold/flu-prone season.

Preparation

This is easy to prep, just wash off your ginger (peel if not organic) and slice. Same with your lemon. A tip on peeling ginger: After washing (the wetness helps here), take a spoon and use it to peel off the thin skin.

I often boil more water than will fill my cup, because after this is done, I put the extra (sometimes including the ginger, etc) into a glass pitcher I have in my fridge. That way later, I have a refreshing chilled drink to go to throughout the day.

I’ve made this into my kitchen-straightening time. I prep, set the water to boil, and during the time I’m waiting for it to boil and decoct (a little over 15 minutes), I put away dishes, wash what’s in the sink, wipe counters, whatever needs done.

How to fit this into your writing life

The ingredients will be a healthy addition to your daily life and if you make it strong, could very well be a nice perker-upper in the  morning. Maybe replace one of your coffee breaks with a cup of this deliciousness? This takes a little longer than 15 minutes, but you could do the prep during a break between writing sprints, set the timer for 15 minutes once you have it all decocting, and then just dash to your kitchen once the time is up.

Ginger, Cinnamon & Lemon Tea

By Angela Quarles, When Paleo Met Sally

Published 01/07/2014

Ingredients

  • 2 cups filtered water
  • 1 inch or more of sliced ginger (adjust to taste)
  • 1 slice lemon
  • 1 cinnamon stick

Instructions

  1. Add at least 2 cups or more of filtered water to a pot and bring to a boil
  2. Once boiling, lower to medium high and add all ingredients (yes, even the lemon)
  3. Cover pot and let simmer for 15 minutes
  4. Strain into cup, using a strainer

Yield: 1 cup

Prep Time: 00:02

Cook time: 00:15
Tags: herbal tea

Do you drink ginger tea? Do you prepare it differently? If this is new, do you want to try it? Let me know if you have any questions!

8 comments

  1. Carole St-Laurent · · Reply

    Man oh man, Angela. We must be sisters. Right down to tea and morning prep.

    I quit coffee 2 years ago and I don’t miss it. I fell into tea. When I’m not decocting my own recipe, I love me a cup of Numi organic Earl Grey. No pesticides there!

    1. yay, tea sisters! See we can make a community too 🙂 I love Earl Grey, but I have to get the decaf kind… I’ll see if Numi has any… Yeah, I saw Numi was one of the safe ones, which I was glad to hear, and so was Trad. Medicinals (which I have), but I also have some Yogi, and that made the bad list 😦

  2. This sounds delicious! Totally going to try it. I do enjoy a morning cup of coffee, I adore tea. For me, hot tea puts me in a writing mood. It’s the drink my critique/writing group drink all day when we get together.

    1. That’s so cool y’all do that together!

  3. I also have to stay off caffeine, although I can drink decaf coffee, since it’s not a diagnosed condition, I just notice much caffeine and I have insomnia for 24 hours. One cup of coffee in the morning will keep me up all through the follow night, an effect I prefer not to experience.

    Usually though I stick to tea. I prefer genmai-cha, a Japanese green tea with roasted rice in it. I decaf it myself since I cannot for the life of me find it sold decaf. I brew it for exactly 30 seconds, discard the water, and rebrew it. That at least removes most of the caffeine. The roasted flavor gives me some of the satisfaction of coffee. Roasted barley tea is also good, and caffeine-free.

    I have not tried making my own ginger tea and will have to try it.

    1. Oh wow, I didn’t know you could decaf tea that way! Definitely trying that as it’s scary some of the processes used to decaf coffee and tea. Thank you!

  4. […] Unlike last week’s tea, this is an herbal infusion, so after you bring your water to a boil, turn the burner off, wait about 30 seconds to a minute and put about 2 tsp into the water to steep (with a lid!) for at least 5 minutes, 10 minutes if you can wait that long. I usually make up a bunch and store it in a mason jar, and then scoop out what I want into a tea ball. […]

  5. […] in the year, I posted my recipe for a Ginger, Cinnamon and Lemon tea, which I have every morning. But then I saw this post at Primally Inspired–Turmeric Tea: A […]

Leave a Reply

