New Habit of the Month: Raw Frozen Liver Pills

liver

IF YOU ARE AT ALL SQUEAMISH ABOUT BLOOD, THIS ARTICLE MIGHT NOT BE FOR YOU.

They say it takes 21 days to make a habit, so I’m going to start trying to incorporate a new one each month. I’ll try to post the blog post earlier in the month in case you want to join in, or to log what new habit you’re taking on for that month. There’s not quite 21 days left–sorry!–but maybe this will give you time to source grass-fed beef liver for February!

Might seem gross, but the way this is done, you don’t even taste it. I first saw this post from Stupid EasyPaleo, How I Learned to Eat Liver (and Stopped Gagging On It) which was a blog post inspired by Primally Inspired, which has the deets on how to do this. Which, frankly, was a godsend. I’d been reading about all the health benefits of liver (more on that below), but couldn’t quite work up the nerve to even chop it up and mix it into burger patties. I just KNEW I’d taste it and gag, and didn’t want to waste my grass-fed ground beef in case the experiment didn’t work.

But basically you want to find some grass-fed, organic beef liver. If you live someplace that has a local source, then you’re off and running. But if not, you can order some online at US Wellness Meats. It’s important to get grass-fed beef, because otherwise the health benefits are not there (mainly it will have an improper balance of Omega 3 to Omega 6 fatty acids). If the animal wasn’t healthy and happy, then their meat isn’t. No use doing it otherwise.

Benefits, or Why the Hack Should I Subject Myself To this?

Big reason? It’s a powerful superfood! And contrary to popular belief, it is NOT a storage vessel of toxins. It is PACKED with vitamins and minerals. Check out the info on Chris Kresser’s blog and especially the chart, where he compares it to apples, carrots, and regular red meat. In fact, he says:

…you might be surprised to learn that in some traditional cultures, only the organ meats were consumed. The lean muscle meats, which are what we mostly eat in the U.S. today, were discarded or perhaps given to the dogs.

Which of course, makes me think of this scene in Game of Thrones:

GOT2

But, I digress (but it was for Game of Thrones!). Anywho, why, why, why, you ask? Still not convinced? How’s this for you writers–it has a weird anti-fatigue factor! Must be why warrior societies prized it so much. According to the Weston A. Price foundation, it’s also:

  • An excellent source of high-quality protein
  • Nature’s most concentrated source of vitamin A
  • a source for all the B vitamins, particularly vitamin B12
  • One of our best sources of folic acid
  • a source for a highly usable form of iron, and has trace elements such as copper, zinc and chromium; liver is our best source of copper
  • a source of CoQ10, a nutrient that is especially important for cardio-vascular function
  • A good source of purines, nitrogen-containing compounds that serve as precursors for DNA and RNA.

Since it is such a concentrated source of Vitamin A, you don’t want to have more than 200mg a week, so taking a little each day in pill form works great! It’s like you’re making your own multi-vitamin!

It’s been exactly a week since I started, and I have noticed my energy levels being higher and more steady. I’ll keep you posted.

Here’s How

Once you have your liver, and if it didn’t come to you frozen, freeze it for at least 14 days to ensure any parasites, etc., are dead. After all, you’ll be ingesting this raw. Next, pull it out and let it sit for just enough to make it easy to cut, but not until it’s defrosted. There’s a sweet spot here. If you catch it when it’s only slightly thawed, it’s super easy to cut and you won’t get all bloody. Once it’s defrosted too much, it’s harder to cut as it gets slimy (gross!) and your fingers get bloody and you’ll feel like you’re reenacting that horse-heart eating scene in Game of Thrones. Cut them up into pill-sized bits and spread them out (single layer) on a plate or cutting board that will fit in your freezer flat. Freeze them for 15 minutes and then you can scoop them into an air-tight container and store in your freezer. This step (freezing them first in a single layer) helps avoid having them all stick together in a clump when they are stored. Full instructions here.

Each morning, pop 3-4. I take it first thing in the morning with my 20 oz glass of lemon water spiked with a tbsp of Apple Cider Vinegar

What are your thoughts? On board? Do you already eat liver? Have you taken on a new habit this month? If so, what? It’s not too late to pick one up for January–what’ll it be?

7 comments

  1. Your Game of Thrones reference has really made me consider doing this… lol I’ve been reading/hearing more and more about liver and in my quest to find a source of grass-fed pastured beef this year I am going to make sure they give us liver too!

    1. Lol, glad that reference helped! I worried it might turn folks off 😉

      1. I’m a huge GOT fan so I loved it! lol

  2. I like and eat liver on a regular basis, but can’t quite bring myself to eat it raw, although I do eat raw heart and other meat. This is a good solution, thanks!

    1. Yeah, I hear ya on eating it raw *shudder* Glad to help!

  3. […] so my first habit probably grossed folks out–taking Raw Frozen Liver Pills, so I’m going to post about something that should be more palatable: getting more uses out of […]

Leave a Reply

