Your Friday Quickie: DIY Smoothie Powder

smoothiepowderIf you’ve read my earlier posts, you know I love my morning smoothies. It’s my way to intake supplements, get my minimal fruit, and also make sure I get veggies. When I first started, I was taking valuable time to do a dash of cinnamon here, some turmeric there, etc. But I’ve learned to pre-prep and when I also saw a Smoothie Powder mix for sale at Target and saw that all it was was a mix of Spirulina, Cacao and Chia, I was like hey, self, you can make that for waay cheaper than twenty-something bucks. Self agreed.

So I mix together the spices and herbs I want and grind them up to make it consistent and bioavailable for some (peppercorns). Here’s what it contains right now: Cacao powder, turmeric, Ceylon cinnamon, unsweetened shredded coconut, parsley flakes, chia seeds, potato starch, peppercorns, and cloves.

Why these ingredients

Most of these you should be able to find at your health food store in the bulk bin section. If you do buy them already bottled, this will up your cost. Just make sure you get organic, as you don’t want irradiated herbs. If you have trouble, I’ve included a link for the unusual ones.

Raw Cacao Powder: I actually take raw cacao nibs and grind them up already so I always have this on hand. But you can substitute quality unsweetened raw cacao powder, or just throw the cacao nibs into the mix because they’ll be ground up anyway. All raw cacao contains magnesium, iron, dietary fiber, calcium, zinc, potassium and antioxidants. It’s also a neurotransmitter so it boosts our mood. It’s also a source of theobromine, which does affect some people negatively (it’s a nervous system booster, which dilates blood vessels). Source. Where to purchase.

Turmeric Powder: Gah, there’s no way I can extol the virtues of turmeric in a short paragraph. This stuff’s good for ya in sooo many ways. In India, it’s called the “Golden Goddess” if that gives any indication. Its active ingredient is curcumin and it’s one of the most scientifically studied herbs, with over 5600 peer-reviewed studies with hundreds of physiological effects. It’s antimicrobial, antinflammatory, an antioxidant, a digestive aid and more. It’s even thought to help fight cancer. I try to add it every day into my cooking. Read moreWhere to purchase.

Ceylon Cinnamon Powder: Like turmeric, this stuff’s good to ingest everyday. I get Ceylon for this application, because I’ll be ingesting it directly instead of extracting it through boiling. Regular cassia cinnamon (what’s typically sold in the US as cinnamon) has coumarin, which can affect your liver in high doses. However, the coumarin is a fat soluble compound, so cassia cinnamon sticks used to infuse your coffee or tea (as long as you don’t also add cream) is fine. Most of the studies of showing cinnamon having a beneficial effect in helping to lower blood sugar and cholesterol has been done with cassia cinnamon, so I use it too, just not when I’m eating it. It also contains antioxidants and is antimicrobial. See 16 Health Benefits of CinnamonWhere to purchase.

Unsweetened Shredded Coconut: I add it for the dietary fiber, iron and healthy fats. Where to purchase.

Parsley Flakes: For the antioxidants, beta-carotene and vitamins A, C and K. Where to purchase

Chia Seeds: Source of fiber and protein. Where to purchase. Check out these facts, quoted directly from greenplaterule.com:

  • Adding 1 tbsp of chia seeds to your smoothie will add 3 grams of protein, 5 grams of fiber, and lots of omega-3′s.
  • Chia seeds, by weight, have 4-times the fiber of oatmeal, 3-times the protein of tofu, twice the antioxidants of blueberries, 10-times the omega’s of salmon, 4 times the calcium of dairy milk, and 15-times the magnesium of broccoli.
  • Chia seeds were known as “running food” to the Aztecs. Today, they are still used by endurance athletes!

Potato Starch: For resistant starch in my diet, which is a prebiotic (food for your gut flora you ingest in your probiotics), though some paleo folks frown on it. Where to purchase.

Peppercorns: Black pepper is “an excellent source of manganese and vitamin K, a very good source of copper and dietary fiber, and a good source of iron, chromium, and calcium. (source)” But besides that, I purposely include it in this recipe to increase the bioavailability of the good stuff turmeric does.

Cloves: Antiviral and antibacterial, it also aids digestion

How to Use

I put 1 tablespoon in my morning smoothie…

What’s Not Included

  • Since I store this at room temperature, I don’t add anything that has to be refrigerated
  • my grassfed gelatin, since I want to make sure I get a whole tablespoon in each recipe.

DIY Smoothie Powder

By Angela Quarles, When Paleo Met Sally

Published 01/24/2014

Ingredients

  • 5 T raw cacao powder
  • 2 T ground turmeric
  • 2 T ceylon cinnamon
  • 2 T unsweetened shredded or flaked coconut
  • 2 T parsley flakes
  • 5 T chia seeds
  • 2 T potato starch
  • 1 T black peppercorns
  • 1/2 T whole cloves

Instructions

  1. Measure each ingredient into a bowl
  2. Pulse them in your dedicated coffee grinder for a couple of seconds until ground and blended

Prep Time: 00:05

What about you? Do you make your own smoothie powder? What else do you add spice/herb/supplement-wise to your smoothies?

Leave a Reply

