Tea Tuesday: Bulletproof Ginger & Turmeric Tea

gingerturmericEarlier in the year, I posted my recipe for a Ginger, Cinnamon and Lemon tea, which I have every morning. But then I saw this post at Primally Inspired–Turmeric Tea: A Liver Detox–and it prompted me to change it up a bit. I’d already been adding turmeric as a ground spice into my daily food, and I’d wanted to find fresh turmeric and couldn’t, but the post made me more determined and so I asked my local health food store if they could carry it. Turns out they had in the past, from a local guy (yay!), and lo and behold, a week or so later, it showed up in the produce section!

Since a lot of the good stuff in turmeric is fat soluble, I decided to take a page from the Bulletproof Coffee folks and add coconut oil and grass-fed butter to my tea!

The Ingredients and Their Benefits

20140211_084334

Ginger root. I buy the nice, plump roots organic at my local health food store, so I don’t have to bother with peeling off the skin. I just wash it and slice. It also has many wonderful properties including improved circulation, which will give you more energy. It also aids in weight loss, helps regulate glucose levels, lowers blood pressure, fights cancer, boosts immune system, and more! If you don’t have a health food store, try the produce section of your regular supermarket. I’ve seen non-organic ones at Publix. Asian or Middle Eastern markets would be another place to check. Remember, if it’s non-organic, you should peel it.

Turmeric root. Typically orangeish in color, these roots look similar to ginger though not with as many ‘fingers’. I don’t peel these either, just give them a good brushing under running water. This stuff’s good for ya in sooo many ways. In India, it’s called the “Golden Goddess” if that gives any indication. Its active ingredient is curcumin and it’s one of the most scientifically studied herbs, with over 5600 peer-reviewed studies with hundreds of physiological effects. It’s antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory, an antioxidant, a digestive aid and more. It’s even thought to help fight cancer. I try to add it every day into my cooking. Read more. Also, read Primally Inspired’s post about its powerful detoxification properties and why that’s important. Where to purchase.

Cinnamon. I’m using Cassia Cinnamon sticks as the health benefits are more documented. It does have coumarin, which is fat soluble so boiling cassia cinnamon sticks in water will only extract the good stuff. However, since I’m adding fat to my tea, it will pull the coumarin into the concoction, so if that’s a concern for you, then get Ceylon cinnamon sticks. Since this is the only time I use a cassia cinnamon stick during the day, I’m not too worried about it. There are numerous health benefits in cinnamon— I even sprinkle some on my salad. But for this tea, it’s included as it apparently helps with alertness, mood and memory. It also tastes good 🙂 You can order them here or here.

Organic Lemon. I include it not only for the taste, but also because lemon is a great detoxifier as well as having antibacterial and antiviral properties, a great addition during this cold/flu-prone season. I get organic, because the peel will be used.

Organic Black Pepper. I put this in, just like Primally Inspired, because studies show that it makes the good stuff in turmeric waaaay more bioavailable when paired together.

Grass-fed butter. If you’re lacto-paleo (Primal) and can tolerate butter, this gives your tea a nice nutrition boost and helps also make the turmeric more bioavailable. I get Kerry Gold as it’s easy to get here. Skip, obviously, if you’re strict Paleo. And if you’re worried about adding fat, especially saturated fat, the link to it increasing cholesterol and promoting heart disease has been debunked. Dietary cholesterol does not increase your body’s cholesterol. In fact, you need cholesterol for so many important functions, that if you don’t ingest it, your body makes it. If you eat more of it, your body makes less. Grass-fed butter is a good source of Vitamin K2 and an anti-inflammatory short-chain fatty acid.

Organic unrefined coconut oil. I looove coconut oil and try to get at least 2 tablespoons a day. One of the unique things about it is that it’s a medium-chain fatty acid, unlike a lot of other oils, and so it gets shunted straight to your liver without making the trek around your body in the blood stream. Why is that good? It means it is converted straight (and quickly) into energy. Especially good if you’re trying to get off of a caffeine dependence.

Grass-fed Beef Gelatin Powder. For the protein, but also, and mainly, for the wonderful goodness of collagen. This will help your hair, skin and nails. I get this kind, as I know it comes from happy cows, and it doesn’t have to be bloomed.

Natural Calm (unflavored). For the magnesium, which a good majority of people are deficient in. Where to purchase.

Preparation

This is easy to prep, just wash off your ginger (peel if not organic) and slice. Same with your lemon and turmeric. A tip on peeling ginger: After washing (the wetness helps here), take a spoon and use it to peel off the thin skin.

I often boil more water than will fill my cup, because after this is done, I put the extra (sometimes including the ginger, etc) into a glass pitcher I have in my fridge. That way later, I have a refreshing chilled drink to go to throughout the day.

I’ve made this into my kitchen-straightening time. I prep, set the water to boil, and during the time I’m waiting for it to boil and decoct (a little over 15 minutes), I put away dishes, wash what’s in the sink, wipe counters, whatever needs done.

After decocting, I put the rest of the ingredients (butter, oil, gelatin powder and Natural Calm) into my Magic Bullet blending cup and run it for about 10 seconds. This makes the oil and butter blend nicely so you don’t have an oil-slick on top. Added benefit: it comes out rich and frothy on the top, so it feels like you’re being decadent 🙂

Note: Turmeric does stain things orange, so you need to be okay with that. It hasn’t stained my mug yet, but it has lent an orangeish tint to my Magic Bullet cup…

How to fit this into your writing life

The ingredients will be a healthy addition to your daily life and if you make it strong, could very well be a nice perker-upper in the  morning. Maybe replace one of your coffee breaks with a cup of this deliciousness? This takes a little longer than 15 minutes, but you could do the prep during a break between writing sprints, set the timer for 15 minutes once you have it all decocting, and then just dash to your kitchen once the time is up.

Bulletproof Ginger & Turmeric Tea

By Angela Quarles, When Paleo Met Sally

Published 02/11/2014

Ingredients

  • 2 cups filtered water
  • 1 inch or more of sliced ginger (adjust to taste)
  • 1 inch or more sliced turmeric (adjust to taste)
  • 1 slice lemon
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 teaspoon black peppercorns
  • 1 tbsp organic unrefined coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp organic grassfed butter (for lacto-Paleos, skip if strict paleo)
  • (optional) 1 tbsp grassfed beef gelatin powder
  • (optional) 1/4 tsp Natural Calm

Instructions

  1. Add at least 2 cups or more of filtered water to a pot and bring to a boil
  2. Once boiling, lower to medium high and add the ginger, turmeric, lemon, cinnamon and black pepper
  3. Cover pot and let simmer for 15 minutes
  4. Strain into cup, using a strainer. I strain it straight into my Magic Bullet blender cup.
  5. Add rest of ingredients into the blender cup and buzz it for about 10 seconds. An immersion blender works well for this too.
  6. Drink and enjoy!

Yield: 1 cup

Prep Time: 00:02

Cook time: 00:15
Tags: herbal tea

Do you drink ginger and turmeric tea? Do you prepare it differently? If this is new, do you want to try it? Let me know if you have any questions!

Apologies: Sorry for missing the tea post last week–my DSL modem died Monday night and I didn’t get a replacement until Wednesday nite 😦

4 comments

  1. LOVE this!!! I have been obsessed with the flavors of turmeric ever since I found it fresh 🙂

    1. I agree!! I was so glad I found a local source for the root, as it just doesn’t compare to the powdered form!

    2. Oh hey! I thought your face looked familiar, you’re Primally Inspired 🙂 I want to thank you for inspiring me (pun intended) to find it fresh!

  2. […] it should be homemade.  If you choose the anti inflammatory tea, you can find some good recipes here and here, or find your own online. Just remember to deduct a point for the big 3 if you use a […]

Leave a Reply

